

Preserving American Jewish History

MS-603: Rabbi Marc H. Tanenbaum Collection, 1945-1992.

Series G: Speaking Engagements. 1975-1992

Box 109, Folder 6, Chapel of Four Chaplains [Philadelphia, Pa.]. 11 February 1986.



PHILADELPNIA - His Eminence John Cardinal Krol, Archbishop of Philadelphia, the R.v. Dr. Norman Vincent Peale, and Rabbi Marc H. Tanenbaum of the American Jewish Committee will receive the Gold Medallian of the Chapel of Four Chaplains here on February 11, at an ecumenical reception, it was announced today.

The three religious leaders will be honored for their decades-long contributions to advancing ecumenical and interreligious understanding, according to Norman Klauder, chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Four Chaplains Chapel. The chapel is named afterxfxx after four Christian and Jewish chaplains who sacrificed their lives during World War II in order to save the lives of soldiers being transported on the SS Dorchester.

Rabbi Tanenhadm served for 25 years as national interreligious affairs director during that of American Jowish Committee during which time he established the foundations of the AJCA's far-flung programs in improved understanding with Catholies, Protestants, Evangelical Christians, Greek Orthodox, black churches, and Hispanics. He was designated in a recent national poll as one of "the ten most respected and influential religioous leaders in America." New York magazine, in a cer story, desginated Rabbi Tanenbaum as "the foresmost Jewish ecumenical leader in the world today."

Rabbi Tanenbaum is currently director of the international relations department of the AJC and is responsible for the agency's relationships with the Vatican, the World Council of Churches, and other world Christian, Muslim, and other religious bodies.

2/11/86

The Chapel of Four Chaplains

1855 NORTH BROAD STREET PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA 19122

(215) CE 6-6394 - CE 5-3020

DR. JAMES ERIC PIERCE, Chaplain ANTHONY K. McCAGUE, Executive Director DR. HARRISON J. TRAPP, Associate RABBI AARON LANDES, Associate FATHER DONALD J. FIEDLER, Associate DR. ANTHONY F. VASQUEZ, Associate

Unity Without Uniformity

Rabbi Marc Tanenbaum Director International Relations Department The American Jewish Committee 165 East 56th Street New York, NY 10022

Dear Rabbi Tanenbaum:

All of us at the Chapel of Four Chaplains are proud that you will be our guest at our Anniversary Banquet on February <u>11</u>, 1986, at The Bellevue Stratford Hotel. Your presence, along with that of Norman Vincent Peale and John Cardinal Krol, will contribute immeasurably to the ecumenical value of our gathering. We have already heard from many friends of the Chapel who have expressed delight and gratitude that you have honored us by accepting our invitation.

The reception, prior to the dinner, will last from 5:30 until 6:30 p.m., and the dinner will immediately follow. The program is fairly brief, consisting mainly of the presentation of the Gold Medallion to you, the Cardinal and Dr. Peale, response by each of you, as you choose, the presentation of the Louis Parris Hall of Heroes Award to a heroic chaplain or civilian clergyman yet to be named, and the presentation of the Golden Heart Award to an outstanding woman yet to be named. As you, Dr. Peale and the Cardinal are our guests of honor, we leave the time frame of your remarks to your own discretion. There will also be a brief musical program provided by the Union League Glee Club.

DR. DANIEL A. POLING 1884-1968 FOUNDER CHAIRMAN DR. NORMAN KLAUDER

FOUR HEROIC CHAPLAINS OF HORLO WAR II HING LOST THE'N LIVES WHEN TH SE DORCHESTER SANK OFF SHEEKLAND FEMILIAR 3. IN

> VICE-CHAIRMAN DR. DANIEL K. POLING

SECRETARY PAUL R. TRICHON, ESQ.

TREASURER STANLEY MERVES

TRUSTEES

MRS. ARLIN M. ADAMS HAL L BEMIS DAVID P. BINDEMAN NORMAN L BRAUN MRS. J. GORDON COONEY G. KURT DAVIDYAN REV. JOHN M. DRISCOLL, O.S.A. MRS. THOMAS DELIBERATO MRS. WILLARD E. FICHTHORN MILTON J. FREIWALD, M.D. HON. ROBERT W. HANSEN SIGMUND S. HARRISON COL. H.N. HOLT DR. FRED K. HONIGMAN CHARLES KAHN, JR. LUCIEN KATZENBERG, JR MRS. JOHN B. KELLY, SR. JR. GEORGE KLAUDER DR. NORMAN KLAUDER SYNDEY LANDES PETER J. LIACOURAS DANTE MATTIONI, ESQ. STANLEY MERVES JAY MEYERS, ESQ. REV. H. LLOYD NORRIS, JR. THEODORE ROSEN PARRIS LT. GEN. WILLARD PEARSON DR. DANIEL K. POLING TERRY L. RULLI HON, BERNARD G. SEGAL DOROTHEA W. SITLEY REV. HARRISON J. TRAPP, D.D. PAUL R. TRICHON, ESQ. DR. MARVIN WACHMAN MRS. WALTER H. WHITE

> PROJECT SUNRISE COMMITTEE

MRS DWIGHT D. EISENHOWER* MRS. BETTY FORD MRS. LYNDON B. JOHNSON MRS. RONALD REAGAN MRS. HARRY S. TRUMAN*

MISS MARIAN ANDERSON MRS. MORGAN DAVIS MRS. MARK O. HATTIELD MRS. NORMAN VINCENT PEALE MRS. ROY ROGERS MRS. RICHARD S. SCHWEIKER HON. MARGARET CHASE SMITH MRS. WALTER WHITE

Broghten

*Deceased

If you will inform Dr. James Eric Pierce, our Senior Chaplain, of your accommodation needs at the hotel, he will see that they are met.

AMERICAN

ARCHL

You have honored us by accepting our invitation to receive the Gold Medallion. I, personally, and all those associated with The Chapel of Four Chaplains, extend to you our heartfelt thanks.

Sincerely,

Norman Klauder Chariman, Board of Trustees

NK:ms